Now Showing: Movie Theater Concession Stand Themed Desk

IMG_20130726_110836_568

I moved into a new cubicle back in January, and ever since then I’ve been itching to do something special with my desk, but I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do.  I knew I wanted it to be something fun and a little quirky, and I definitely wanted a theme as opposed to a hodgepodge of stuff, but I just kept drawing blanks.  I scoured the internet, and let me tell you, there’s a severe shortage of ideas there too–even on Pinterest!  I enlisted the help of my most artistic and creative friends.  Still nothing.

And then one day my best friend made a joke about my bringing my popcorn machine to work and putting it on my desk, and my brain just took off.  I should have known he’d provide the answer.

IMG_20130726_104955_255

After my popcorn machine for Christmas, I received a mini Coke fridge as a birthday present, and my friend kept giving me Coke stuff as a way to “help” me with my desk.  So if it looks a little like a Coke themed desk, that’s why.  But my theme idea was “movie theater concession stand,” and I’m pretty happy with the finished product.  Most of the items on my desk were gifts.  I have a really cool Coke tote that I’m using for pens, scissors, post-its, etc., some mini movie posters on the wall, my Steel Performer Award (which looks great with my theme, by the way), some nifty film strip photo frames, a “Coke sold here” sign, some Coke glasses that my daughter gave me for my birthday (the old fashioned kind with the really nice shape), and my beloved photos (I LOOOOVE photos).  The theme really came together when I put in the last pieces, the movie posters, and voila!  Movie theater concession stand, complete with candy, soda, and popcorn!

The calendar is actually hanging up on my cube wall now, next to my coat hanger, and I couldn’t be happier.  I had a heck of a challenge finding a way to hang things on my cube walls, as they’re a metal that isn’t conducive to magnets and they’re layered over with fabric.  My friend discovered that we could take apart the pin-clips I use to hang papers on my cube walls and use just the pins (sans clip) to hang other things.  They work absolutely beautifully.  They’re called cubicle clips, and you can find them at most office supply stores.  I got mine at Staples, but they’re also available on Amazon.

The movie posters I downloaded from Movie Posters Archive and printed on a laser color printer, then found some extremely cheap document frames at Dollar Tree to frame them ($1 each).  The frames I used had slits in the back for wall hanging, and I simply inserted my clipless pins into the slit and slid the pins into the fabric on my cube wall sideways.  Works great!

IMG_20130726_104903_759

I found the filmstrip photo frames on Amazon.  They’re sold 3 for $11, but shipping ran me another $10, so keep an eye on that.  There are several different filmstrip photo frames available in different sizes and styles.  Mine are 5×7″ and are freestanding glass.

IMG_20130726_104913_147

Right now I have real candy in my cups, but as fast as the candy disappears in this office, I’ll probably replace it with paper straws and colored glass marbles when it’s gone.

 

What do you think?

