Weakness Begets Strength

For a while now I’ve wanted to write my thoughts on the correllation between strength and weakness. I’ve been putting it off because my thoughts on it have become so clear that I’m not sure I’ll have much to say. Still, a lot or a little, I’d like to say it.

I think we need weakness to make us strong. If you look around at our current American culture, you’ll see that weakness of any kind is generally sneered at, while everyone is expected to be a pillar of strength at all times.

No wonder we Americans are so exhausted all the time.

Personal strength divides us. It’s our weaknesses that create bonds and ultimately strength. When you have a weakness and you choose to share that weakness with someone, a bond of trust is formed, and that bond dictates that the stronger individual help the weaker in whatever the weakness is. In return, the weaker individual will have his own strengths the stronger person doesn’t have, and so they’ll be people filling in each others’ chinking. You have two people bonded who are much stronger together than they could ever be separately.

It’s through our weakness that bonding is accomplished and ultimately strength is formed, while our strengths divide us and cause weakness. No matter how strong we are as individuals, we can never be as strong as we are in our relationships with other people.

YMMV.

2 thoughts on “Weakness Begets Strength

  1. I didn’t mean to imply that having strengths wasn’t necessary–just that we are stronger for our weaknesses and that focusing on ourselves individually because of our strengths is a cause of weakness. But yes, being dissimilar makes us stronger. 🙂

  2. I see what you’re saying here, I think, but at the same time without strengths the whole thing falls apart. I’d say that a combination of dissimilar weaknesses and strengths bind us together for a stronger whole.

What do you think?

