Does Reason Know What It’s Missing?

This is the idea behind my new, very personal and emotionally directed blog, The Girl is Emo.  The Girl is Fierce carries some emotion with it, but I hate the idea of flooding it with my day-to-day emotional happenings.  This blog is a place for purpose, for direction, for philosophy, for reason.  In short, it’s a space for me to expand my intellect and the socially applauded parts of myself.  But there are parts of me that reason can’t touch, and I need an outlet for those parts of me, too–the parts that ban reason from the treehouse, whose members include emotion and immaturity,  who suspects there may be something missing from a reason-controlled life.  And really, my reason wants to control those parts of me more often than not.  But I have the capacity for both reason and emotion, and while I know it’s unfashionable to let emotion run free–especially the more negative emotions–I think it may be healthy for me.

The Girl is Emo is going to be much more relaxed, as far as topics go.  In fact, the only solid rule I’m going to have is that there are no rules.  Whatever I’m thinking, whatever I’m feeling that needs out, out, OUT is going to be allowed its run there.

I don’t plan to post updates for it, and this should be the only time I link to it unless I have a good reason later on.  Follow it if you want, or don’t.  I’d welcome anyone who reads it–I like the idea that people care enough to want to know about the inner part of me that I don’t usually let out to people.

As far as this blog goes, it’s going to remain a structured place for grammar, adventures, and philosophies.

I’ve always been fascinated by the idea that there are two parts of the mind–a part we seem to have control of, reason, and the other part, emotion, which we can sometimes control with reason if we work at it, but which usually controls us more often than not.  This seems to be the part of the brain we have very limited control over.  Emotions themselves are fascinating for this reason alone, but also because they do whatever they want and damn whatever reason has to say about it.  I don’t know about you, but I like having this part of myself.  It’s like having a kid: it may drive me nuts, but I love it all the same.

Speaking of adventures, I’ve recently given my bucket list a pretty massive addition–I more than doubled it in a single blow.  I’m liking the newer part of my list better than the older part, which I also updated a little bit.  I’d check it out–you may find yourself inspired to do some of the things on my list, or you might learn a thing or two about the kind of person I am.  I learned quite a lot by reading over it when I was done.

What do you think?

